Plastic Free July 2018

Today is the first day of Plastic Free July, and this will be my 3rd year of trying this challenge as a way to reduce my use of disposable or single-use plastics.

Last year I blogged about it and focused on all the mistakes and trash I ended up with. This year I will be focusing on plastic-alternatives and trying to take pro-active steps. I know there are better lifestyle choices, but planning ahead is key. If my family is out in the world and isn’t packing our own food, it’s too easy to end up with unwanted containers, utensils, and straws.

So today I purchased packable and reusable silicone straws, bamboo utensils, and a stainless steel carry-out container. Total cost was $80, so this wasn’t cheap. Hopefully we will use and re-use these items for years, though, so if all goes as planned the cost-per-use becomes reasonable.

I’m inspired to try taking that carryout container to one of our local take-away favorites some time soon and see if they will just fill my container for me!

Leave a comment